The Liebster Blog Award!


 This is my first blog award. I hope this doesn’t stop with one. Thank you The Resurgent Bookworm for finding my blog awesome enough to nominate me.

Rules of the Leibster Blog Award 

  • List 11 facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions asked by whoever nominated you.
  • Ask 11 new questions to 9 bloggers with less than 200 followers. You cannot re-nominate the blog that nominated you.
  • Go to their blog and tell them that they have been nominated!

11 facts about me 

  1. I’m an undergraduate in early twenties.
  2. I was born and brought up in Chennai. To me, it is the best city to live in.
  3. My ideal breakfast is Idli and Vada served with Sambhar, Chutney and Chilli powder. Filter coffee will be the finishing touch.
  4. I’m actually like Po from Kung fu Panda ( no I’m not fat). I eat whenever I get my hands on food. I eat when I’m happy, stressed, sad, thinking, etc. According to me, there is nothing a good snack followed by a little nap can’t solve :p
  5. I love acting, though I have never participated in drama. I have huge respect for very good actors. Two of my favourite actors are Jack Nicholson and Kamal Haasan. They are just simply too good.
  6. I love Japanese Anime, mainly because of the concepts they bring into the story and the depth in the characters. I can watch Dragon Ball Z, One Piece, Death Note, Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, Naruto, Attack on Titan, Samurai X and Bleach 100 times over and yet never get bored. If you ever want to start watching anime start with Death Note. It is simply mind blowing.
  7. I love psychology. I enjoy reading more about the brain mainly because the way people think interests me. One book I loved reading was Phantoms in the Brain by Vilayanur Ramachandran.
  8. I love math and have an affinity towards numbers.
  9. I don’t like to travel much, yet there are places in the world I want to go, like a wildlife safari, Norway for 24 hour daylight, Paris for the exquisite French cuisine, Great Barrier reef of Australia, etc.
  10. Animal planet is my favourite TV channel and it is the reason why I want to go on a wildlife safari.
  11. Heights and Lightning scare the hell out of me.

My answers to The Resurgent Bookworm’s  collection of questions

1. What made you start blogging?

Though I’m an occasional reader, I’ve always tried to appreciate the literary content of the books I read. I have always been fascinated by the way the authors view things, in fact I envy them. So, I wanted to give a shot at writing, just to see how good my ‘Third eye’ is.

2. One author whom you absolutely adore (to an extent where you’ll pick a fight with someone who criticizes that author)

I’m an occasional reader and hence none.

3. Is there any book which you picked up based on the blurb but then felt let down when you actually read it?

Airport by Arthur Hailey. I couldn’t go beyond 250 pages.

4. How did it all start? Which is the one book that set you on the path to being a bookworm?

I’m not a bookworm yet, but if I become one, my answer would be Kane and Abel by Jeffrey Archer

5. Your take on genres – should people be open to all types or be content with their favourites?

There is just too much out there in the open to be content with few favourite genres. I’m always open to new genres but if I feel I don’t like a particular one, I won’t go that side again. My favourite genres are Thriller (especially psychological) and Horror.

6. The top 3 books you would recommend to any bookworm willing to listen (like myself, for example)

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

The Shining by Stephen King

The Siege: Attack on the Taj by Adrian Levy and Cathy Scott-Clark

7. Your most favourite and least favourite book-to-movie adaptations

Most Favourite: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Least Favourite: Harry Potter 3-7

8. Movies or TV shows that you will watch a 100 times

Movies:

   English: The Dark Knight Trilogy, The Prestige, Fight Club, Inglorious Basterds and Pulp Fiction.
   Tamil: All Crazy Mohan – Kamal Haasan combo movies, Iruvar, Thalapathy, Nayagan and Pudhupettai.

TV Shows: Death Note, Dragon Ball Z, Sherlock, and F.R.I.E.N.D.S.

9. Have you ever wanted to be a character from a book?

I’ve always wanted to be Sherlock Holmes :p

10. It’s raining cats and dogs outside and you have run out of books. What would you do?

I always have the “Eat – Write – Eat – Sleep” routine :p.

11. What are your guilty pleasures in books/tv/movies/even food?

Idli with Chilli powder is my guilty pleasure. Ever want a favour from me? Give me tasty Idli smeared with chilli powder, but I warn you, the Idli has to be absolutely delicious. 

 My nominees

Since I’m very new to blogging I haven’t followed many blogs and couldn’t quite manage listing 9 of them. But these are the blogs that I not only enjoy reading the most, but also learn about writing. I love their creativity and style of writing.

 My Rickety Typewriter

A Jumping Gene

sirblabsalot

Mistoughts and wonderings

Love. Life. Laughter

Amar Shobdo

 My questions for you! 

  1. What made you start blogging?
  2. What is your most favourite and least favourite book?
  3. One author whom you would recommend for potential bookworms like me.
  4. Books/Movies/TV shows that you’re never bored of.
  5. Your favourite book to movie adaptations.
  6. Your favourite genres.
  7. If you’re allowed to stick a poster of your favourite quote in your bedroom, what would it be?
  8. It’s raining cats and dogs outside and you have run out of books. What would you do?
  9. Have you ever wanted to be a character from a book?
  10. If you can swap places with a celebrity for a day, who would it be and why?
  11. One superpower you would love to have and why?

3 thoughts on “The Liebster Blog Award!

  1. Pingback: My Leibster Blog Award | My Rickety Typewriter

Leave a comment